h1

Writing hours in July

August 4, 2013

I’m always amazed on how fast another month has gone by and it’s time to update my monthly writing hours.

In July, I worked mostly on True Nature, which is with the content editor right now. If her feedback is as demanding as it was for Second Nature, there’ll be two or three more months of hard work ahead of me before the manuscript is ready for copy editing. But I know it’s worth it.

I edited a novella titled Rich Girl, whose author patiently hung in there with me, successfully making it through several editing passes.

I also participated in another two-day editing seminar, and it was fun to meet other editors, since most of us tend to work alone.

So here are my numbers for July:

  Writing
Editing
Research
January
46 hours 14 hours
February
44 hours 19 hours
March
82 hours 15 hours
April
71 hours 4 hours
May
105 hours 5 hours 25 hours
June
135 hours 10 hours
July
122 hours 19 hours
TOTAL 605 hours 86 hours 25 hours

Check back next month to see the hours for August. I’ll work on another great manuscript as an editor this month (Broken Faith by Lois Cloarec Hart), and I hope to get the edits for True Nature back from my own editor. One thing’s for sure: Working in publishing never gets boring 😉

Leave a Reply

