h1

Walking the Labyrinth

June 13, 2013

cover_walking-the-labyrinthMany years ago, long before I first started writing in English, I read Coming Home by Lois Cloarec Hart. It was actually one of the first lesbian romances I read. To this day, it’s still one of my favorites. I was so impressed by this heart-felt novel that I sent Lois an e-mail, practically begging her for a sequel or maybe a “spin-off” featuring my two favorite minor characters, Dana and Lee.

This year, I was honored to have Lois as a fellow Ylva author and even more honored to edit her newest book, Walking the Labyrinth, a novel that is told from Lee’s point of view. So I got my sequel in a very unexpected way.

Gaëlle, the novel’s other main character, would probably say that the universe works in miraculous ways.

I’m not sure what I expected when I first started reading Walking the Labyrinth, but probably something entirely different. What I got was another surprise—but in a very good way.

Most of the time, the main characters in lesbian romances are twenty-somethings. The main characters in Walking the Labyrinth are in their sixties. And it’s so much more than just a romance novel. It’s a story about love, loss, and spirituality.

If that sounds a bit too “hooey” (as Lee would say) for you, give this novel a chance anyway. I promise it’s worth it.

2 comments

  1. Thanks, Jae. It was a pure pleasure working on Walking The Labyrinth with you. And it still amuses me that we reconnected on this project so many years after Coming Home. The Universe does work in amazing ways, doesn’t it? 🙂


    • Yes, it does. I look forward to working with you on Coming Home too.



Leave a Reply

