h1

Book giveaway

January 19, 2012

It’s time for another book giveaway.

I’m giving away a signed copy of Conflict of Interest, one copy of Backwards to Oregon, and one copy of Next of Kin.

All you need to do to enter the drawing is to leave a comment on my blog, in which tell me your favorite book of 2011 (or several favorites).

Also, I’m looking for a beta reader for my newest novel. It’s a contemporary romance with the (working) title Something in the Wine. It has around 70,000 words.

I already have a team of skilled betas, but I would like to have a fresh set of eyes—preferably someone who’s a native speaker.

If you’d like to beta-read Something in the Wine, send me an e-mail (jae_s1978@yahoo.de).

40 comments

  1. Hi Jae…my favorite book from 2011 was The Host by Stephanie Meyer.


  2. Choosing one is not easy! Probably “The River Within” by Clare Baxter Trautman is pretty high up there.

    Thanks!


    • Yes, choosing one is hard. Naming a list of favorites would be okay too.


  3. I read Backwards to Oregon this past year. I really enjoyed it. The characters were well written and the storyline was wonderful. I sure hope that Jae might write more books like this one. I have read the prequels and sequels to BTO and enjoyed them as well. I have read a lot of wonderful books in 2011 and I enjoy the historical fiction and military themed stories.

    Thanks


  4. So many to choose from! Here is my list, though some may be pre-2011 I read them in 2011 so I’m counting them:
    Kate Christie- Soltice
    Kate Christie- Beautiful Game
    Ann Roberts- Petra’s Canvas
    Pol Robinson- Open Water
    Saxon Bennett- Marching to a Different Accordian
    Lynn Galli- Finally
    Nell Stark & Trinity Tam- Night Rise
    L.L. Raand- Blood Hunt
    Gerri Hill- Devil Rock
    Geri Hill- Storms


  5. RAINEY DAYS/ RAINEY NIGHTS RE Bradshaw
    WHEN WOMEN WERE WARRIORS I II and III
    MILES TO GO / SCAPEGOAT Amy Dawson Robertson
    FAITHFUL SERVICE SILENT HEARTS Lynette Mae
    DAMAGED IN SERVICE Barrett
    reread BACKWARDS to OREGON so I could enjoy
    HIDDEN TRUTHS
    BEFORE IT STAINS RE Bradshaw
    I bought and read these and many more. These seem to be the ones that sorta touched me
    I have all your books enjoyed them all except SECOND NATURE. I have it and going to give it another try.I keep hearing that it is really good Thanks for writing really good long books
    Donna


  6. just commented above forgot to give author for WHEN WOMEN WARRIORS Catherine M. Wilson


  7. Favorite reads; Faithful Service Silent Hearts by Lynette Mae, Always Faithful by Isabella and Rainey Nights by RE Bradshaw.

    If i’m lucky enough to win I would love Conflict of Interest. As a police officer I thought you did a brilliant job of writing about a horrific crime against a woman and the different characters handling of it.


  8. I read so many great books this year, but my favorite is, of course, Jae’s Backwards to Oregon! It was a wonderful story, a different twist on lesbian romance, and just superbly written. Can’t wait to read Hidden Truths. I also have Next of Kin on my ‘to read’ list.
    Thanks, Jae for all of your work.
    Debby


  9. Hidden Truths from you.
    Before it Stains – R.E. Bradshaw
    Broken Shield – Isabella
    ForbIdden Passions Mj Williamz
    Mending Defects Lynn Galli


  10. It is so hard to pick a favorite book!! I guess this past year’s favorite was Robbi McCoy’s For Me and My Gal. What a lovely book! I’m not old enough to have been around back then, but that doesn’t stop me from just knowing what it was like.

    I have been an appreciated beta reader for Brenda Adcock and Frankie J Jones. Mostly nitpicker on spelling, etc., but if I see something that doesn’t make sense or feel that something is missing I darn well mention it.


  11. Hi Jae
    When I sat down to list some of my favorite I’ve read this year, I found out I read a LOT and my tastes vary. So, some of my top books are
    From a Distance by C L Hart
    Veiled Conspiracy by Michelle Coffman
    Hidden Truth by Jae
    96 Hours by Georgia Beers
    LA Metro by J L Nolan
    When Echo Returns by K. Silva
    Pirate’s Fortune by Gun Brooke
    Dying to Live by Kim Baldwin and Xenia Alexiou
    Missing Linx by Kim Baldwin and Xenia Alexiou
    Beyond Instinct by Lynn Ames
    Change of Pace by Jae
    Next of Kin by Jae
    Blood Hunt by Radclyffe
    Rum Spring by Yolanda Wallace
    The Devil be Damned by Ali Vali
    1049 by Kim Pritekel
    The Midnight Hunt by Radclyffe
    And Those Who Trespass Against Us by Helen Macpherson
    Magic of the Heart by C J Harte
    Watermark by J M Redmann
    Nevermore by Stark and Tam
    etc. etc.

    Please note that the books are not listed by my most favorite, but rather just some of my favorites this year in random order.

    Hope you don’t mind a long list.

    I, too, would like to be considered as a beta reader for your book. As instructed, I have sent you an e-mail letting you know of my intensions.

    Patty “Ragdollprof” Anderson


  12. Wow. I always have a hard time picking a favorite but I loved Scarlet Masquerade by Jett Abbott.


  13. Without a doubt it was the unabridged version of AC Henley’s McKee.


  14. Rainey Nights and Waking up Gray by RE Bradshaw,
    Hidden Truths,
    Quite an Undertaking, Barbara Clanton (and all of her books in fact),
    Sarah, Son of God, Justine Saracen
    Rymellan stories III, Sarah Ettritch,
    Snow Moon Rising, Lori Lake (exceptinal book!!)
    Kate Delafield 1+2, Katherine Forrest
    After The Fall, Robin Summers
    Bleeding Out and The River within, Baxter Clare Trautman
    Three Days, LT Marie
    Mimi / Gianna Mystery, Penny Mickelbury
    Cool Side of the Pillow, Gill McKnight
    The Best Defense, Carsen Taite
    Ditched, Josie Gordon
    The Three, Megan O’Brien


  15. Top favourites read in 2011 were –
    Faithful Service Silent Hearts, Lynette Mae,
    The Carousel, Stefani Deoul
    Broken Shield, Isabella
    Strange Bedfellows – Q.Kelly
    Waiting – Q.Kelly
    Out On The Sound – R.E. Bradshaw
    Waking Up Gray – R.E. Bradshaw
    Jericho – Ann McMann
    After The Fall – Robin Summers
    My Soldier Too – Bev Prescott
    Hostage Moon – AJ Quinn
    Wild – Meghan O’Brien
    Facades – Alex Marcoux


  16. Saxon Bennett- Marching to a Different Accordian
    Jericho – Ann McMann
    Hell’s Higway – Gerri Hill
    Maye’s Request – Clifford Henderson
    Buyer’s Remorse – Lori Lake
    Two on the Aisle – Robbi McCoy
    Shaken and Stirred – Joan Opyr
    Water Mark – Redmann JM
    Open Water – Pol Robinson
    The Long Way Home – Rachel Spangler
    and more


  17. I think favorite has to be Blood Hunt by L.L. Rand

    Aideen


  18. My favorite book of 2011 was Blood Hunt by LL Rand.


  19. My definitely favourite book of 2011 is Firestorm by Radclyffe. The reason is because I simply love Radclyffe’s books.


  20. Wow, difficult to choose as everybody. But if I really have to narrow and based on what I read this year, I would point to :
    – Stranded from Blayne Cooper
    – All the ‘Cat Rising’ Serie from Cynn Chadwick
    – Battle Scars from Meghan O’Brien
    – Hidden Thruths from you (honest!)

    And on a different ‘topic’, I was quite addicted to ‘The Hunger games’ from Stephenie Meyer.


  21. Oh, this is not so easy. My favorite book 2011, Hmmm, I really liked ‘The Long Way Home’ from Z.A. Maxfield. You know, I still think it is a cute story, even when the author has a little problem with the POV-concept 🙂


  22. my 5-star rated books for this past year, in no particular order:
    – paradise by kate sweeney
    – dying to live by kim baldwin & xenia alexiou
    – blessed twice by lynn galli (actually, i read all of her books this past year and i loved them all)
    – sierra city by gerri hill
    – nothing but the truth by carsen taite
    – blood hunt by l.l. raand
    – waiting in the wings by melissa brayden


  23. “Miss You Most of All” by E Bass stayed with me, making it one of the most memorable books for 2011 for me. Thanks and happy new year.


  24. Love your work! Please enter me in the drawing for an autographed book.
    Favorite book. It wasn’t published in 2011, but I just recently read it. Second Nature by Jae. 🙂
    The characters are extremely likable & believable. I am anxiously awaiting for a sequel.
    Thanks.


  25. Hi Jae,

    Looking forward to Something in the Wine (or whatever you finally name it!). These weren’t published in 2011, but it was the first time I got to read them. They are the When Women Were Warriors trilogy by Catherine M Wilson. Fantastic read, I spent my week vacation just reading these! Also Second Nature, by you.
    I have to say, the two books you are offering up are the only 2 of yours I haven’t read. I have been waiting for the audio version to be available. I do my annual check in with L-Book to see when they will be ready. Coming soon, or so I hear!

    Take care,
    Marie


    • I agree completely with you about When Women Were Warriors. Couldn’t put it down until I was done with the third book. I’m retired, so I could afford to lose some sleep. And I confess to a few naps.


  26. These are a few of the novel’s, I adored for 2011:
    Faithful Service and Silent Hearts by Lynette Mae
    L.A. Metro by RJ Nolan
    Passion’s Bright Fury by Radclyffe
    One Degree of Separation by Karin Kallmaker
    Two on the Aisle by Robbi McCoy
    Miles to Go: A Rennie Vogel Intrigue by Amy Robertson
    There are many more…
    Gloria Jean Dugger


  27. Hi Jae,
    I loved to read Pirate’s Fortune by Gun Brooke. It is the fourth and last book of her Supreme Constellation series.
    And many other books 😉


  28. I’ve read some great books this year, so I’m not going to choose just one. Here are my favourites:-)

    Battle Scars – Meghan O’Brien
    The House on Sandstone – KG MacGregor
    Jericho – Ann McMan

    I did buy ‘Backwards To Oregon’ before Christmas but only read it recently after being sick for a while. I loved the book and the characters. It definitely was a page turner:-) Luke and Nora were excellent characters and it was lovely watching their romance develop. I had read so many recommendations about this novel and they were well deserved. It’s definitely a book that I’ll be reading again and again:-)


    • Battle Scars and Jericho were definitely two of my favorites from last year too.


  29. Hello Jae, I just wanted to let you know that I have read many books this past year, most of them in preparation of writing my WWI Historical Nonfiction about the African American Soldiers that have been forgotten by their country. Since that has been taking up most of my time I really haven’t had time to read much else except for the writings of one woman named Jae, LOL, and working on a couple of my own books. Anyway, when I heard that your book was about a group of large kitties called “Second Nature” that was definitely one that cat this kitty’s heart beating faster. I loved it and hope for the sequel soon. Anyway there ya go, no fanfare, no hoopla. There was another book, a biography about Helen Lapps who was a very famous but unknown woman from the 1950 who made the most incredible contribution to science that has ever been made. More important the PNC, the TB cure, and even X-rays, yet she never got credit for it and never got paid, she died instead through the ignorance and neglect of the medical facilities of the time and the Jim Crow laws that were in effect. Her story was fascinating and I would recommend it to anyone with a interest in history um women’s history . Anyway, that is about all I had to say except, keep on writing and please let us know when the sequel to “Second Nature” comes out, we want to be on the first list to buy it,
    Katherine Standell and Samantha Ruskin


    • Your research sounds very interesting. Please let us know when your book will be published. I love history, especially the little-known and forgotten parts of it.

      True Nature, the sequel or rather spin-off to Second Nature, will be my next project after I finish my current work in progress. I have already completed the first draft, but it has a complicated plot, so it will need extensive revisions. I’ll let you know once I know more.


  30. Hello Jae.
    Read lots of books, many for the second time including
    Backwards To Oregon [love the story]
    All Dar & Kerry. Melissa Good
    2011
    Faithful ServiceSilent Hearts Lynette Mae
    Jerico Ann McMann
    Always Faithfull Isabella
    L A Metro J L Nolan
    Hidden Truths Jae
    Taxi To Paris Ruth Gogoll’s
    several more on my Sonny but the above i really enjoyed.

    Yep my all time favourtite “Backwards” got it on audio as well as ebook/paper back. lol

    Looking forward to book 3.

    {can’t get into the Shifter series have the ebooks lol and am trying}

    This is a fun trip Jae reading of choice’s. All strenght to your typing hand.
    Gina…………………………..


  31. Admiring the hard work you put into your blog and in depth information you present. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed information. Excellent read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.


    • Thank you for your kind words. I enjoy blogging about writing, and I hope the information is helpful to other writers.


  32. I loved your Backwards to Oregon and the sequel, but I have to admit my very favorite book of 2011 was Faithful Service, Silent Hearts by Lynette Mae. Maybe it was my 26 years in the Air Force that made me like it so much.


  33. It wasn’t published this year, but I found Clifford Henderson’s “The Middle of Somewhere” and throughly enjoyed reading it!


    • Stay by nicola griffith
      Dying to Live, by Kim Baldwin & Xenia Alexiou
      Faithful Service, Silent Hearts by Lynette Mae
      I would love to read Conflict of Interest and Next of Kin!!!
      Gloria


  34. Stay by nicola griffith
    Dying to Live, by Kim Baldwin & Xenia Alexiou
    Faithful Service, Silent Hearts by Lynette Mae
    I would love to read Conflict of Interest and Next of Kin!!!
    Gloria



Leave a Reply

