h1

Goodreads

August 3, 2011

I confess that I never really got into the Facebook thing. But now I have discovered Goodreads, and I really like it, so I thought I would blog about it.

Goodreads is a social-networking site for readers all over the world. Currently, it has more than 5.4 million registered users.

As a reader, you can keep track of the books you have read, are reading, and want to read in the future. You can post reviews and rate books (Goodreads uses the five-star rating system).

Like on Facebook, you can “friend” other members or you can become a fan of Goodreads authors.

You can join discussion groups, start a book club, or find new reading material by browsing the bookshelves of people with similar reading tastes or by following their reviews.

Goodreads also has an author program. Authors can set up profiles with their author’s bio and a list of their books. It’s really easy to do. You can link your blog feed directly to your Goodreads page so that your readers can always read your latest blog post directly from the Goodreads site.

And if you are a statistics geek like me, you can take a look at some interesting stats.

You can also publicize upcoming events, share book excerpts, and do book giveaways. The possibilities are endless.

Is anyone else using Goodreads?

10 comments

  1. I’m in Goodreads. Be glad to ‘friend’ you


    • Hi, Marie. Sure, I’d like that. See you on Goodreads.


  2. LOVE Goodreads! Very happy to see you there, Jae.

    There are some lesbian fiction writers using the site but it would be wonderful to have more.

    I also strongly encourage readers of lesbian fiction to create some questions for the trivia section.


    • I haven’t checked out the trivia section yet, but I’ll do so once I find the time. I’m sure I can come up witih a few questions about lesbian fiction.


  3. Yes. I am. Glad to see you. I hope you and your readers enjoy the website…:)


    • Thanks for commenting, Gloria. I’ve seen you on Goodreads 🙂


  4. It seems really interresting : I will certainly make good use of it 🙂

    Thanks for the info.


    • It’s nice to have all of my books and reviews in one place. Plus Goodreads is a great promotion tool for writers. I bet that it’ll become more popular in the future.


  5. […] a social-networking site for readers about which I blogged before, has several book clubs, discussion groups, and even a beta reader group, where you could search […]


  6. You might be interested in my latest post at http://www.charleneoldham.com. And please do “friend me” on Goodreads.



Leave a Reply

