h1

Hundred days…

March 10, 2011

Today is day 100 since I started working on my newest novel, True Nature.

Since True Nature is a pretty fast-paced book, I estimated it to end up around 100,000 words (compared to the 140,000 to 180,000 of my other novels), and it seems that estimation was fairly accurate. I’m working on the climactic scene right now, and this is my word count:

My main character is Kelsey Yates, a wolf-shifter, whom you met in Second Nature. Her love interest and main character number two, Rue Harding, is human.

There seems to be a convention (or maybe it’s a cliché) in paranormal romance, that if you have a human/werewolf or human/wolf-shifter pairing, the wolf will be the strong, dominant one, who protects the human. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure those stories can be fun. In fact, Gill McKnight‘s Amber Eye has an alpha who is hilariously possessive (and she shares my office-supplies fetish, but I digress…).

But for me, half the fun is the fact that Kelsey is a submissive wolf, more of an omega, and Rue is a CEO used to giving orders.

Having a submissive main character wasn’t easy at first. By definition, the main character should be active, not passive or reactive. So I’ve kept the first seventeen chapters entirely in Kelsey’s point of view to make sure readers identify and empathize with her. And, of course, she’ll have to play a major role in overcoming the final obstacle in the climactic scene.

I’m hoping to finish this first draft by the end of next week, and then my pack of beta readers, critique partners, and test readers will get the manuscript for a second read-through.

If you want to follow my progress, I’m updating my word count regularly.

4 comments

  1. Congratulations on making such great progress in just over 3 months! Incredible stuff. I’d say that it is a challenge to have a more submissive character in the lead, but that it’s working out great with the attention to detail you’ve paid.

    As an aside, I’ve read the web versions of some of those werewolf stories, and they’re way over the border of “possessiveness” into other stuff. Not my cup of tea at all.

    You have to be careful, because when you really think about it, humans are effectively lower on the food chain when you build worlds with vampires and werewolves. It’s more than taboo to play with your food, let alone get romantically involved with it.


    • I know what you mean. Werewolves and vampires have a certain animality and wildness that might be sexy, but not when it crosses the line.

      Since my shape-shifters have lived as humans and among humans for thousands of years, they’re not as wild and instinct-driven as many other paranormal creatures in other novels.

      And let’s not forget that “real” wolves would rather run from humans than hunt them down and kill them.


  2. Totally agree. The Wrasa are a fully developed culture. They’re not “humans” but they’re not “animals” in the same way that dogs and wolves are.

    There are so many myths and folks use them and others abuse them. In your stories, there is never a question of consent.


    • Thanks. I try to never cross that line. I think the bestiality is best kept out of the bedroom.



Leave a Reply

