h1

cultural difference 36: castles

July 29, 2010

In Southern Germany, where I live, we have a lot of castle ruins that are looking down on the valleys below. I thought I’d share a few pictures of castles I have visited.

This is one of the most famous, Heidelberg Castle.

This photo was taken from the Philosopher’s Path on the other side of the river.

The first parts of the castle were built between 1294 and 1303.

The castle was extended and more buildings added over the next 300 years, so now the castle is a combination of buildings from different periods of German architecture.

Lightning destroyed large parts of the castle in 1764.

The Castle stands 300 feet above the city of Heidelberg. From the terrace and the gardens, you have a great view of the city and the Neckar River.

If you are ever in Heidelberg, make sure to visit the castle.

6 comments

  1. Both my parents and my in-laws have visited Heidelberg castle. The pictures are gorgeous.


    • Thanks, Lara.
      Interestingly, the locals call it “Schloss,” which translates to “palace,” not “Burg” (which means castle/fortress).


  2. My mother (the historian) mentioned the Schloss distinction. *smile* My in-laws just enjoyed the stunning view.


  3. I’ve been there as well – both in Heidelberg and on the Philosopher’s Path (which didn’t make me any wiser…). The town is beautiful and the “Schloss” is indeed impressive. I love visiting those old places and often just sit there and imagine the live of those people that lived there several hundreds years ago.


  4. I had many friends years ago stationed at the US base there, and had a chance to visit. I remember the huge vat of wine, might have been beer in one of the cellars. It was my first trip to Europe and my first castle. Never forget it.
    I went on to visit many other castle along the Rhine, and of course went to Fussen to see Neuschwanstien. My favoirte is Marksburg Castle.
    Thank you for sharing the pictures.
    So much history so little time.



Leave a Reply

