h1

cultural difference 35: air conditioning

June 25, 2010

After a much too cool spring and a rainy start into the summer, we had much warmer weather (about 80° F) today. That made me think of air conditioning — or the lack thereof.

Most German houses and even office buildings have no air conditioning. Most of the newer, bigger cars have it, though.

I’ve come across a funny (and, for the most part, true) blog post, in which an American makes fun of the German “superstition” that changes in temperature are detrimental to your health. Maybe that’s why we don’t have air conditioning.

2 comments

  1. I have to admit that I’m really, really thankful that our new car has air condition. I can’t stand the heat very good. And today we are on the road and it already is rather hot.
    But not having air condition in a house is a good thing from my point of view. These machines “eat” a lot of power – which is expensive. And electricity doesn’t simply come out of the socket 😉 – talk about environmental protection. On top of that a lot of air conditions in office buildings aren’t correctly adjusted. They are too cold – and then it’s no myth that people get ill.


  2. I think that the A/C does help us lose our adaptability to weather. I suppose heating does the same thing. But considering I live in Florida, USA and the temperature is close to 100 with humidity about the same these days, I’ll risk losing my adaptability. If I lived in another (read: cooler or at least less humid) climate, I think I’d give the AC up.



Leave a Reply

