h1

Looking for test readers

June 15, 2010

I just finished the second draft of my current work-in-progress, Hidden Truths.

It’s a historical romance and a sequel to Backwards to Oregon, taking place in 1868. As it seems to be the norm for my novels, at 143,000 words (300 pages), this one is a rather long novel too.

I have a few wonderful beta readers and critique partners helping me out, but they have worked with me on this story from the beginning. So what I need now is a set of fresh eyes, someone who reads the story from beginning to end within a few days.

You don’t need to be a writer or an experienced beta reader (although it certainly wouldn’t hurt either), and you don’t necessarily need to have read Backwards to Oregon.

The only thing you need to do is read and maybe take notes to let me know which scenes you liked and which didn’t quite work or seemed to drag.

Here’s a short summary of the story:

Husband and father Luke Hamilton is not the man she appears to be.  Her two daughters are hiding something too, and when a mail-order bride arrives on the ranch with her own secret, Luke’s family will either be torn apart or drawn closer together.

If you are interested in test reading, send me an e-mail:

jae_s1978 AT yahoo DOT de

One comment

  1. […] What I learned from the test reading process July 5, 2010 As I mentioned before, I had two dozen people test read Hidden Truths, and it’s been quite helpful, so I thought […]



Leave a Reply

