h1

cultural difference 30: drinks

June 1, 2010

Germans like to be creative when it comes to drinks. We often mix different beverages.

I talked about Apfelschorle before – remember that’s apple juice with sparkling water.

Then we have “Spezi,” which is a mix of coke and orange soda.

“Radler” (which translates to “cyclist”), beer and carbonated citrus-flavored lemonade, is also very popular, especially in summer.

Germans also mix beer (usually “Weizen,” which means wheat beer) with coke (“Colaweizen”) or beer with banana juice (“Banana Weizen”).

10 comments

  1. We have the “Radler” in Cyprus, it’s called “Shandy” though. Many people prefer it with a bit of blackcurrant syrop as well. It’s very popular in summer. In winter the local folk tends to have stronger drinks, including “Ouzo” – a traditional greek drink, which is basicaly anise-vodka.


  2. Other than that – the Germans must have a lots of inventive spirit and a strong stomach to mix and drink all of those above! πŸ™‚


    • Hehehe. Well said πŸ™‚

      The funny thing is, I personally don’t like some of the “typically German” things I’m blogging about. I’m not a beer drinker at all, for example.


      • I’m not much into beer either, don’t like the aftertaste much. My favourite long drink is semi-sweet white wine 50%/50% with tonic or Sprite (if the wine is not very sweet). Pleasant to taste and enjoyable feeling in the mouth afterwards. Besides, it’ll never get you drunk! πŸ™‚


  3. Jae, what’s your favorite drink?


    • I hardly drink any alcohol, not even wine or beer.
      I can make a mean cocktail, though, and I personally prefer something sweet with coconut.

      As for non-alcoholic drinks I like to mix juice and mineral water. Right now, I’m drinking mango juice.

      And every once in a while, I like to have a malt beer. That’s a non-alcoholic drink, despite the word “beer” in it. I don’t think there’s anything like it in the US. Does something like it exist in Russia or Cyprus?


      • I’m not sure what exactly you mean by the “malt beer” (I don’t keep up-to-date with the beer drinks), for even the normal alcohol-containing beer is made with malt. So, do you mean a normal non-alcohol beer?


  4. Jae, could you help me out, please – how can I get my photo next to my comments? Thanks!! πŸ™‚


    • I just sent you an e-mail about the avatar.

      Malt beer is alcohol-free (or almost alcohol-free, depending on the brand), but it’s sweeter than other non-alcoholic beers and it’s dark. Here’s a link with more information:
      http://www.germanbeerinstitute.com/Malzbier.html


      • Wow! Jae, do you have links for anything? πŸ™‚ You could open your own sort of “Yellow Pages” for web! I’ll be sure to check it out.
        Well, in Cyprus, as well as in Ukraine and Russia, there is a non-alcoholic beer, but I haven’t seen a dark one so far.



Leave a Reply

