h1

writing process: last read-through

May 10, 2010

9. Beta reading, second round:

My beta reader does another read-through of the complete revised story. It’s a huge commitment of time and energy on her part. Needless to say I’m truly grateful. I make more changes – some substantial, but most just minor adjustments.

10. Proofreading II:

I do another read-through (or two or three…) to check for grammar, spelling, and punctuation mistakes. I look up compound  words to see if they are closed, open, or hyphenated, and I make sure I follow the CMOS standards (that’s The Chicago Manual of Style, the style guide for book publishing) and L-Book house style.

As you can see, writing really IS rewriting.

Or as Lawrence Kasdan said: Being a writer is like having homework every night for the rest of your life. 🙂

3 comments

  1. “As you can see, writing really IS rewriting.”

    Hear, hear!


  2. Yikes, I had no idea about all that’s involved in writing a novel!

    And now that I have a better idea, I think it’s much more difficult than homework! 🙂


  3. Luckily, it’s also more satisfying than homework 🙂



Leave a Reply

